The WOW Hits 2013 compilation is sure to please fans of Casting Crowns, Sidewalk Prophets, Laura Story and Royal Tailor or worship music of Matt Redman, Chris Tomlin and so many more top names in Christian music. The artists, however, hope it does more than merely entertain. Many of the songs chosen for WOW Hits 2013 have been instrumental in listening enjoyment, from wholesome entertainment listening, to ushering in praise and worship to crowds in a small Sunday gathering at a church service, to large sold-out concert arenas.

Though some songs are merely uplifting entertainment, the WOW series of CDs is an annual compilation album that features Christian music and allows fans to sing a new song, like the psalmist who wrote:

I will sing a new song unto thee, O God: upon a psaltery and an instrument of ten strings will I sing praises unto thee.Psalms 144:9, KJV

The CDs are issued in September each year and include songs from that year, with the coming year’s date on the cover. In other words, even though it has the year 2013 on the label, the WOW Hits 2013 CD was released in September of 2012 to include the most popular songs through the fall of 2012 that are also projected to remain well liked throughout 2013. These yearly compilations are the Christian music lover’s best cost-effective option for finding the most popular annual hits in the genre all in one place.

WOW Hits 2013 is a two-disc set that includes 30 popular songs from 2012, plus three bonus tracks from well-established as well as some up-and-coming artists. Six additional songs are found only on the Deluxe Version to add up to a total of 39 songs available on the Deluxe Version.

Disc One includes 15 songs and one bonus song. The Deluxe Edition also includes three bonus tracks from Big Daddy Weave, Kutless and Dara MacClean for a total of 16 songs on the WOW Hits 2013 Disc One and 19 songs on the Deluxe Version.

The songs on Disc One are as follows:

1. Courageous – Casting Crowns
2. 10,000 Reasons – Matt Redman
3. Overcome – Jeremy Camp
4. Blessings – Laura Story
5. My Hope is in You – Aaron Shust
6. I Lift My Hands – Chris Tomlin
7. The Hurt & the Healer – MercyMe
8. Forgiveness – Matthew West
9. We Are – Kari Jobe
10. Live Like That – Sidewalk Prophets
11. Fall Apart – Josh Wilson
12. Angel by Your Side – Francesca Battistelli
13. Trust in Jesus – Third Day
14. Do Everything – Steven Curtis Chapman
15. Someone Worth Dying For – Mikeschair
16. Bonus: Only a Mountain – Jason Castro
17. Deluxe Bonus: Love Come to Life – Big Daddy Weave
18. Deluxe Bonus: Carry Me to the Cross – Kutless
19. Deluxe Bonus: Free – Dara MacLean

Disc Two contains 15 songs, plus two bonus tracks, for a total of 17 songs. The Deluxe Edition of Disc Two also includes three more bonus songs from artists Abandon, Mat Kearney and the David Crowder Band. With the additional bonus songs, the Deluxe Edition of Disc Two contains a total of 20 songs.

1. God’s Not Dead (Like a Lion) – Newsboys
2. Me Without You – TobyMac
3. Where I Belong – Building 429
4. All This Time – Britt Nicole
5. Lift Me Up – The Afters
6. Busted Heart (Hold on to Me) – for King & Country
7. Hold Me – Jamie Grace (featuring tobyMac)
8. Strong Enough to Save – Tenth Avenue North
9. He Said (featuring Chris August) – Group 1 Crew
10. Center of It – Chris August
11. Good Morning (featuring TobyMac) – Mandisa
12. One Day Too Late – Skillet
13. The Redeemer – Sanctus Real
14. The Light in Me – Brandon Heath
15. Make a Move – Royal Tailor
16. Bonus: Banner of Love – Luminate
17. Bonus: When Mercy Found Me – Rhett Walker Band
18. Deluxe Bonus: Let Me Feel You Shine – David Crowder Band
19. Deluxe Bonus: Down – Mat Kearney
20. Deluxe Bonus: Feel it in Your Heart – Abandon

Originally intended to include pop-style music in the Christian genre, the WOW series now includes WOW Gospel, WOW Essentials and WOW Worship. There has also been an occasional WOW Christmas album released. The WOW Hits 2013 CD was released September 25, 2012 under the CMI CMG label.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *