The artist behind Eye On It is an incredibly gifted musician and showman, but he prefers that his songs inspire his audience to look up to a higher being. His real name is Kevin Michael McKeehan, but his fans know him as TobyMac.

This hip hop artist became well known in the late 80s when he was part of the Christian rap group, DC Talk. He has been in the Christian music realm for more than 20 years, and TobyMac continues to soar.

The title song is the number three track on the album that contains 12 tracks:

1. Me Without You

2. Steal My Show

3. Eye On It

4. Forgiveness (featuring Lecrae)

5. Speak Life

6. Unstoppable (featuring Blanca from Group 1 Crew)

7. Lose Myself

8. Family

9. Thankful for You

10. Made for Me

11. Mac Daddy (Tru’s Reality)

12. Favorite Song (featuring Jamie Grace)

The Eye On It Deluxe Studio Edition includes these additional bonus remix tracks:

  • Me Without You (Capital Kings Remix)
  • Steal My Show (Jack Shocklee Remix)
  • Lose Myself (Capital Kings Remix)
  • Family (Jamie Moore Remix)
  • LoudNClear Tru (Telemitry Remix)
  • Me Without You (Telemitry Remix)

When he wrote the title track, he was determined to keep his eye on making Jesus the central focus of what his life is all about. This is how he wants to live, even though it means a constant re-dedication and re-determination to keep Christ in the forefront. Each additional song has its own special place on the album.

“Me Without You is about going through rough times and coming to a realization of how desperately everyone needs God.

“Steal My Show” was written as a plea for God to take his show and make it bigger than anything a human could ever make of it.

“Speak Life” was inspired by Brennan Manning, the author of Ragamuffin Gospel and Abba’s Child, who expressed the concept that anyone you come into contact with, you either offer them life or drain them. There is no neutral exchange. When TobyMac read this, he desired to use his words to turn lives around and offer compassion to everyone he encounters. He wants to share this as a reminder to his audience to speak life in every conversation.

“Family” is a heart-touching cry to fight for keeping a marriage together. It is his response to the high divorce rate and families falling apart all around. He believes that family matters and hopes that anyone in that place who hears this song will give it one more chance and not walk away.

“Lose Myself” speaks of a life that is constantly changing for the glory of God and switching focus from selfish pursuits and choosing to let go and allow God to be glorified.

“Unstoppable” is more than an energetic, upbeat anthem. It comes from the Apostle Paul, who said:

For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. —Philippians 1:21, KJV

When Christians embrace these words as a lifestyle, they are truly unstoppable. Both producers went to work to make this song pop. Blanca from Group 1 Crew sealed the sound.

Lecrae joins TobyMac to sing about “Forgiveness.” This pulls in a rhythm and blues sound. It points the theme to redemption and expresses that the whole package of forgiveness is not just about seeking it, but it’s also about offering it to others.

“Mac Daddy” is a fun song in a world of laptops, Apple products and Macs.

“Thankful for You” is a song about the people who surround TobyMac that are honest with him and keep him on the right track.

“LoudNClear” is a remix of the song that introduced TruDog, who is TobyMac’s son, having fun in the studio.

Eye On It was released on August 28, 2012 under the Forefront Records label.

The album features guest appearances from Lecrae, Britt Nicole and Jamie Grace. Other voices and talent on the album include Christopher Stevens, David Garcia, Jamie Moore, Trevor Morgan, Tony Lucido, Paul Mabury, Byron “Mr. Talkbox” Chambers, Tim Rosenau, Jesse Frasure, Mike Woods, Brian Haley, Courtland Clement, Blanca Callahan, Kim Flemming, Jason Eskridge, Nirva Ready, Nancy Stevens, Gabe Patillo, Cameron Stevens and Vicki Hampton.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *